Open today until 6:00pm

Monday 
Closed

Tuesday 
10:00AM - 6:00PM

Wednesday 
10:00AM - 6:00PM

Thursday 
10:00AM - 6:00PM

Friday 
Closed

Saturday 
10:00AM - 6:00PM

Sunday 
Closed

Built in 1940, the Children's Library was the first freestanding library in the United States intended solely for children. The Children's Library serves children from birth through 5th grade in a fun and inviting garden setting.…

Upcoming Events

Holidays and Closures

  • Memorial Day
    Monday, May 29, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Independence Day
    Tuesday, July 4, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Labor Day
    Monday, September 4, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Columbus Day
    Monday, October 9, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Veterans Day
    Saturday, November 11, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Thanksgiving Holiday
    Thursday, November 23, 2023 - Friday, November 24, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Christmas Holiday
    Monday, December 25, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • New Year's Holiday
    Monday, January 1, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day
    Monday, January 15, 2024
    Closed All Day
  • President's Day
    Monday, February 19, 2024
    Closed All Day

Featured Services

branch_page_icons_secret garden

Secret Garden & Wishing Well


Discover a magical space behind the children's library where you can relax, read, and enjoy time with family.  Don't forget to make a wish while you're there!

branch_page_icons_library fairy

The Library Fairy


Sadie the Library Fairy makes her home in the Children's Library.  She's a little shy so you can write her a letter to say hello.

branch_page_icons_fireplace

Unique History


Come in to study in front of the historic fireplace and learn more about Lucy Stern and the library's unique history.

About Children's Library

    • Bike Racks
    • Computers & Wi-fi
    • Parking Lot
  • On-street parking in front of the library on Harriet Street or in the parking lot shared by the Junior Museum & Zoo and the Children's Theater between Hopkins Street and Middlefield Road.

Map

New & Available at Rinconada

New & Available at Rinconada

News & Blogs

Featured Spaces

Back to Top